INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Division I Football Championship Committee has announced that the 2012 NCAA Division I Football Championship Game will be played at 1 p.m. ET Jan. 7 (ESPN2).

The game will be played at the 23,500-seat Pizza Hut Park in Frisco, Texas.

The championship game, hosted by the locally-based Southland Conference, the City of Frisco and the Hunt Sports Group, is the culmination of a 20-team championship bracket.

The Football Championship Subdivision (FCS) is comprised of the conferences and institutions that compete in the NCAA Division I Football Championship -- Big Sky, Big South, Colonial Athletic Association, Mid-Eastern Athletic, Missouri Valley Football, Northeast, Ohio Valley, Patriot League, Southern and the Southland. The Ivy League and Southwestern Athletic Conference are in the FCS as well, but neither chooses to participate in the football championship.

In January, Eastern Washington rallied from a 19-0 third-quarter deficit to beat Delaware 20-19 in the FCS national championship game.